Romance Novel Giveaways - Freebies and Giveaways of All Things Romance Romance Novel Giveaways: Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter ♥ Guest Post, Book Tour & GIVEAWAY ♥ (Historical Romance)

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter ♥ Guest Post, Book Tour & GIVEAWAY ♥ (Historical Romance)



Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.

After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon's army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.

But fate has a different plan.

Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she's moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.

Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah – and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah's own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts – or will the cycle of history repeat again?

Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley's Lord of Ice and Judith James's Broken Wing, Finding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.


15 Random Facts about Rachel L. Demeter

1. Creating worlds and characters has always been in my blood. Well before I physically learned to read or write, I’d dictate stories while my mom would jot them down for me.
2. I began my college career as a philosophy major (with an emphasis in metaphysics), but changed to film and media arts (specifically, screenwriting) about halfway through. Even though I’m primarily a novelist now, film school deepened my passion for crafting fiction tenfold. It taught me to concentrate on plotting, dynamic characters, and effective pacing, as well as the importance of visual storytelling. I wouldn’t trade my college education for anything in the world.
3. My love affair with darker stories and characters began when I was a child. I loved Gothic tales (The Phantom of the Opera, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, etc.)—and the villains in Disney movies were often my favorite characters!
4. During college I wrote an edgy TV pilot entitled the Red Light District, which was chiefly based on a porn studio and actor. As part of my research, I spent a day at an actual porn shoot. And yes . . . I got to see and hear everything. While sitting only feet away. The experience was truly eye-opening and one of a kind—and the actor and actress were some of the nicest, most interesting individuals I’ve ever met.
5. I’m seriously an organizational freak. I plan my days out months in advance, and draw up detailed plot outlines and character sketches before ever beginning a new story. Though, I can certainly veer away from ritual and be a “pantser” when the manuscript calls for it.
6. I’ve been Richard, my amazing high school sweetheart, for over eleven years. We began dating during our freshman year and have been together ever since. He’s truly my soul mate and greatest inspiration . . . I’m so grateful to have found him at such a young age! :)
7. My list of favorite foods is highly diverse: French fries, yellow squash, broccoli, baby carrots, donuts, chunky alomd butter, tuna, avocados, and chocolate, chocolate . . . and then some more chocolate.
Did I mention I love chocolate?
8. What’s in a name? Everything! A ton of thought goes into the selection of my characters’ names. I always ensure their meanings symbolize the story in some way. For example, in Finding Gabriel, Ariah means “lioness” in Hebrew—and she, indeed, behaves very much like a mother lioness when it comes to protecting her loved ones. Plus, she is blonde and quite fierce at times. “Gabriel” represents one of the archangels in the Old and New Testament. (Though the story itself contains no religious undertones.)
9. When I was ten years old, my house was sieged by the SWAT Team. Rifles, handcuffs, surveillance of our house for several months prior . . . the whole nine yards. Long story short: my cousin and I had taken shirtless (and 10000% innocent) pictures of each other holding a Barbie doll . . . and an employee at Costco misinterpreted the photos, to put it mildly . . .
10. Aside from writing, some of my other hobbies include: playing the violin, singing (soprano), health and fitness, cooking, softball (pitcher), animals, and video games (yes, I’m a bit of a dork at heart).
11. Ariah Larochelle, the heroine of Finding Gabriel, was inspired by my mom (who is my personal heroine).
12. I have an entire kitchen drawer dedicated to GUM! :-P












The infamous “gum drawer.”

13. Extensive research went into Gabriel’s mental state and self-inflicted disfigurement to ensure its authenticity and detail. My dad is a surgeon, and his medical expertise proved invaluable.
14. I’m terrified of airplanes and upside down rollercoasters. Though, strangely enough, regular rollercoasters don’t rattle me the least bit.
15. A Kindled Winter, my steamy and heartfelt holiday romance (which will be released in November 2015), is my first contemporary novel and beta hero. Writing this story was an intensely personal experience due to the subject material.



“Look at me. Look at what you have saved.”

Gabriel released Ariah’s chin and tore away the bandage in a harsh movement. As his eyes bore into her own, pale moonlight fell upon the deformity, illuminating the twisted flesh and grotesque welts. The sight reminded her of a beautiful chateau . . . a stunning fortress situated along the coastline . . . one that had fallen into ruin and neglect. The skin was concave, destroyed, cavernous – a remnant of former glory. And the surrounding features – his burning eyes, the right side of his face, his powerful body – dwarfed the disfigurement with a striking beauty.

“Look at the monster you have created. Look upon my face, Ariah.”

She shivered at the sound of her name; slightly muffled from the injury to his mouth, it slid from his tongue with equal parts venom and hunger.

“I was supposed to die that night . . .” The last of his words ended in a choked whisper. His face fell forward in despair until his forehead was pressed against her own. He was impossibly close. And he appeared every gram a flesh-and-blood warrior – coarse and ruthlessly untamed. Sweltering heat radiated from his body and engulfed all five of her senses. She was suffocating. Visions of that long-ago night echoed in her mind until she could perceive nothing else. Ariah gave a shallow cry as she struggled to free herself once more.

“Don’t. Don’t leave me. Please.”

Her movements ceased. The words struck a chord deep inside her chest. She connected her gaze with his and was rendered speechless by the naked anguish in his stare. Regret and desire were etched in every line of his face – but what stole her breath was something entirely different. For the second time, it was neither anger nor resentment that radiated from his eyes, but a longing so intense that it nearly overwhelmed her: hope.
     


Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and her high school sweetheart of eleven years. She enjoys writing dark, poignant romances that challenge the reader's emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.

Imagining dynamic worlds and characters has been Rachel's passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mother would record them for her. She holds a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether crafting the protagonist or antagonist, she ensures every character is given a soul.

Rachel endeavors to defy conventions by blending elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness.

Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.

Don't be a stranger! Rachel loves to connect and interact with her readers


         


Win a Momentum eBook bundle!
a Rafflecopter giveaway



@RachelLDemeter @GoddessFish @momentumbooks http://goo.gl/f45R4S pic.twitter.com/1CN8Isj50b

2 comments :

♥ Thank You for Your Comment! Best of Luck in the Giveaway!!! ♥